JRNL102 Emotional History

EH REFLECTION STATEMENT

IN – Ok, so I had an opportunity to go and see…

OUT – …We all loved

DURATION – 1.59

Alan Nokes, a crazy west ham football fan talks about his support for the English football team.

The emotional history audio task assigned for JRNL102 was to firstly record an audio interview, add elements such as ambient sound and music then edit the piece into an emotional history mix. Part two of the assignment was to to write a reflection piece to go with my audio track explaining the steps and processes taken while completing the assignment. I chose to interview my dad and focus on the emotion happiness, as he is very passionate and talkative when it comes to this topic so I just knew he was the perfect person for the interview.

Initially, I personally found the task given challenging, slightly stressful and exciting as I had never done anything like this before in my life. I had never produced or recorded an audio report, nor had I used the equipment needed to complete this task, including the zoom recorder and the Hindenburg editing program. I eventually found my feet and am now happy with the final result of this audio emotional history task as I believe I captured the emotion happiness quite well through the use of my interviewee, tone, music, background noise and slight audio edits.

The interview, I believe went very well. I set up the interview in a quiet room with the door shut to avoid any interruptions and so background noises were muffled as much as possible. To start off the interview I first asked a couple of introductory and warm up questions to get the conversation and interview started. After this, the interview just flowed and he spoke for ages about his team, the supporters, the history behind them and the opportunity he recently had of seeing west ham play together after many years.

During the editing process, I tried to stay as true to his story telling process as I could. I decided to only remove little bits of audio where the speech was messy or there was slight background noise just to make the interview flow and sound much nicer. I left in natural breathes but added some pauses between sentences to create emphasis to the story. I added the classic west ham chant and slight crowd cheering background noises in-between and under the voice of the interview to enhance the overall feel of the piece, still keeping the voice as the main audio piece. The football chant, in this piece also symbolises the love the loyal fans have for their team, including my dad. This gives the audience an extra feeling of the atmosphere the interviewee speaks about so vividly. I also enhanced the interview by adding in some uplifting, acoustic sounds, this kept the audio piece flowing and connected.

During the jrnl102 lecture in week 4 we spoke about the purpose of actuality and said how actuality evokes atmosphere and creates audio ‘imagery’ to the story and brings it to life (McHugh 2017). I agree strongly with this statement as during the editing process I discovered with adding crowds cheering noise as a background sound just created an extra layer of depth to the story emphasisng the whole audio piece. To add to this, a quote by a radio producer, Alan Hall says ‘no sound is innocent’ (Hall 2010 in Mc Hugh 2017). This quote relates to my audio piece also as sounds are used as symbols and not one sound has one meaning, it has several it just depends on the context it is in. I have defiantly tried to embody that in my emotional history piece.

The overall experience I had with this assignment was a positive one, as it taught me about audio journalism, the impact of emotions, recording, interviewing and editing and heaps of helpful and new techniques and skills. Despite some inconsistencies with the audio for my first ever audio produced mix, I am happy and content with the final result of my emotional history audio recording. Ira Glass, another radio personality was quoted saying “narrative is a sequence of actions” (Ira Glass on Journalism, 2016). I believe this perfectly sums up my experience working on this audio piece and is a perfect way to end this reflection statement.

REFERENCE LIST

McHugh, S (2017). Lecture Week 4, “Actuality and Voice”, viewed 14th August 2017.

Hall, A (2010) “Cigarettes and Dance Steps” in Reality Radio: Telling True Stories in Sound, ed. J. Biewen and A. Dilworth, Chapel Hill, UNC Press, viewed 14th August 2017.

Glass, I (2016), “Ira Glass on Journalism”, podcast, 11 August, Sydney Opera House, viewed 24th August 2017

AUDIO LOG 13/8/16

ALAN NOKES INTERVIEW PART ONE

0.05 – 0.11 “So I had an opportunity to go and see my beloved west ham, that I’ve supported since 1975”

0.13 – 0.18 “They finally decided to come to the southern hemisphere, to New Zealand”

0.22 – 0.29 “Watch them after missing, not seeing them for the last 15-20years”

0.30- 0.35 “I emigrated from London to Australia back in 1999”

0.38-0.52” A great opportunity to go to New Zealand with my friend, Ian we were both season ticket holders at Upton park, some 20 -25 years ago”

0.54 –1.09 “We got there to Auckland, we ended up meeting up with lots of fellow supporters, bumping into people I haven’t seen since I was a season ticket holder”

1.16- 1.22 “Nice to see the team grow over the years and fail, more often than not”

1.23 – 1.29 “On top of that we got to see the players up close and got photos and met the chairman”

1.31 – 1.32 “had a photo with David gold”

1.33- 1.40 “Also had a photo with Sam Allardyce, who was the manager and went on to be the England manager for a short period”

1.43- 1.59 “Just really got the opportunity to get in and around my football club and my fellow supporters…. all with the same love for the mighty west ham”

ALAN NOKES INTERVIEW PART TWO

0.03 – 0.16 “During the 3 or 4 days in Auckland I just found all the old memories coming back of my youth, supporting them and the comradery between the fans”

0.17 – 0.25 “Looking back and remembering all of the happy moments of every Saturday going to the game”

0.26 – 0.38“Meeting the same people, singing together and watching the football we all love”

Sophie xx

One thought on “JRNL102 Emotional History

Leave a Reply

